Find us on Google+
« Return to Mapping Canada’s Music

Table of Contents for
Mapping Canada’s Music: Selected Writings of Helmut Kallmann edited by John Beckwith and Robin Elliott

List of Illustrations

Preface and Acknowledgements

Helmut Kallmann: A Brief Biography

Helmut Kallmann and Canadian Music

Selected Writings of Helmut Kallmann (*indicates material which has not been previously published)

1 * Studying Music at a Canadian University, 1946–1949 (1949)

2 Canadian Music as a Field for Research (1950)

3 The New Grove’s: Disappointment to Canada (1955)

4 Introduction, from A History of Music in Canada 1534–1914 (1960)

5 * Joseph Quesnel’s Colas et Colinette (1963)

6 Music Library Association Digs Up Our Musical Past (1966)

7 James Paton Clarke, Canada’s First Mus.Bac. (1970)

8 The Music Division of the National Library: The First Five Years (1975)

9 The Canadian League of Composers in the 1950s: The Heroic Years (1984)

10 The Making of a One-Country Music Encyclopedia: An Essay after an Encyclopedia (1994)

11 Music in the Internment Camps and after World War II: John Newmark’s Start on a Brilliant Canadian Career (1995)

12 * Franz Schubert in Canada: A Historical Survey of Performance, Appreciation, and Research (1996)

13 Taking Stock of Canada’s Composers from the 1920s to the Catalogue of Canadian Composers (1952) (1996)

14 * A Selection of Correspondence (1949/1966/1992)

15 Mapping Canada’s Music: A Life’s Task (1997)

16 The Matter of Identity (2001)

17 * At Home with the Kallmanns: A Schöneberg Family in the 1930s (1992/2001)

List of Helmut Kallmanns Writings